Our Ministry

The Bible Society of India is the handmaid of the Churches in India. We have been in existence for the last 205 years. We are engaged in translating and publishing the Bible in different languages of the country, to cater to the spiritual needs of Christians of various language groups. The Bible Society of India is the largest and one of the oldest of the 149 National Bible Societies in the fellowship of the United Bible Societies.

Besides the Central office in Bangalore, we have 16 Auxiliary Offices operating from different States of the country, a Translations Centre at Shillong and a Sales Depot at Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Our Objectives

The objective of the Society shall be to encourage the wider circulation of the Holy Scriptures of the Old and New Testaments without doctrinal note or comment but with Readers’ Help and Hymnal wherever possible throughout India and in other lands.

Our Goals

The Vision of the Bible Society of India is to ensure that the Bible is made available to all in a language that they can understand, in a format they have access to and at a price they can afford.

Our Activities

The Mission of the Bible Society of India is to engage in Translation, Production, Marketing and Scripture Engagement with the sole aim of transformation of the World through the Word.

The General Secretary is the CEO of the Bible Society of India. Under him there are Directors heading various departments and staff working alongside of them.

The Central Council of the Bible Society of India, which is the General Body of the Society comprises of representatives from various Church denominations from all over the country. The Central Council meets once in three years. An Executive Committee constituted from this body is headed by the President, assisted by the Vice-President and Treasurer. The Executive Committee is the Governing Body of the Society, which functions on behalf of the Central Council between the Council Meetings.

Revd. Dr. M. Mani Chacko PhD (London) is the General Secretary of the BSI and the Office Bearers for this Triennium 2016-2019 are :

President : Most Rev. Dr. P C. Singh
Vice-President : Dr. Mrs. P. Leela Bose
Treasurer : The Revd. Premkumar Soans